St. Charles Catholic’s Wayne Stein Selected as Best Boys Prep Coach for New Orleans – Crescent City Sports

Allstate Sugar Bowl recognizes two-sport state champion as the best in the region

NEW ORLEANS — Wayne Stein, who coached St. Charles Catholic to two state championships, has been selected as the prep coach of the year for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Greater New Orleans Boys. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual winners in various categories; it also selects the Amateur Athletes of the Month and Hall of Fame Class of each year. Overall, 27 individuals and four teams will be honored for their 2021-22 achievements at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame awards banquet on July 30. Winners are currently announced over a month-long period, culminating in the Corbett Awards for the state’s top male and female amateur athletes on July 25-26.

Stein, in his first year as St. Charles’ Catholic football coach after taking over from the legendary Frank Monica, led the Comets to an undefeated record and the LHSAA Division III State Championship – he then followed this by directing the comets to the LHSAA division. III Baseball State Championship to give him a very rare double championship. The Comets won the football title thanks to the strength of their defense and their special teams. The defense hasn’t allowed a run in seven of the first nine games. In the championship, two blocked punts and three field goals enabled a 32-27 win over Lafayette Christian.

Even more impressively, Stein achieved this success in his first season despite facing tremendous challenges after Hurricane Ida devastated his school community. Despite the severe damage, the entire St. Charles Catholic Football Program and the school family banded together, galvanized their resolve and rallied behind each other.

“I hope all of our players, coaches, administrators and fans can be proud of awards like this,” Stein said. “It’s not a one-man job; I deserve every credit for all that we have accomplished. Every time an award is given to one of us, we can all feel proud. And I’m very proud to represent our community with an award from an organization like the Sugar Bowl.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee has recognized outstanding New Orleans-area high school coaches since 1962. Stein also received this honor in 2019 after leading the St. Charles Catholic baseball team to a championship title. ‘State. Monica received the award in 2011-12 after leading the Comet football team to its last state title before 2021.

The other Greater New Orleans Boys Prep Coach of the Year finalists were Errol Gauff (Archbishop Hannan Basketball), ryan manale (Jesuit football) and nate roche (George Washington Carver Basketball). Gauff steered the third-seeded Hawks to their first state title with a memorable championship game performance as they connected on 27 of 33 shots in an 81-60 win over top-seeded Liberty. . Manale, in his first year at the helm of the Jesuit program, helped the Blue Jays improve throughout the season as they qualified for the Division I state championship game of the LHSAA for the first time since 2014. After suffering a one-point loss in the LHSAA Class 4A Championship Game in 2021, Roche and Carver left no doubt this year. The top-seeded Rams outscored No. 3 McMain 66-31 to win the state title.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will continue to announce its annual awards tomorrow (Wednesday) as the Greater New Orleans Girls Prep Coach of the Year will be released at 10 a.m. (finalists to be announced at 11:30 a.m. today on Twitter (@SugarBowlNola).

Jimmy Collins Special Awards: Loyola Men’s Basketball and St. Charles Catholic Athletic Department

Outstanding Boys Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: Wayne Stein, St. Charles Catholic Football/Baseball

Outstanding Girls Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: June 29 (Wednesday)

Outstanding Female Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: June 30 (Thursday)

Outstanding Male Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: July 1 (Friday)

Eddie Robinson Award: July 5 (Tuesday)

Boys’ Outstanding Prep Squad, New Orleans: July 6 (Wednesday)

Outstanding Girls Prep Squad, New Orleans: July 7 (Thursday)

Outstanding Collegiate Coach, Louisiana: July 8 (Friday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 11 (Monday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 12 (Tuesday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 13 (Wednesday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 14 (Thursday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 15 (Friday)

Inducted into the New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021: July 18 (Monday)

Corbett Award – Female: July 25 (Monday)

Corbett Award – Male: July 26 (Tuesday)

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee began in 1957 when James Collins led a group of sportswriters to form a Sports Awards Committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes every month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, which led to the establishment of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 Crescent City legends in its first initiation class. While adding responsibility for selecting members of the Hall of Fame, the committee continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – the honors enter their 66th year in 2022. To be eligible, a athlete must be from the greater New Orleans area or must be competing for a team in the metro area.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of college football’s finest games, having hosted 28 national champions, 100 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 20 Heisman Trophy winners over the course of its 88-year history. The 89th annual Sugar Bowl Classic is set to be played on Saturday, December 31, 2022. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee invests more than $1 million in the community each year by organizing and sponsoring sporting events, awards, fellowships and clinics. . Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting more than $2.2 billion into the local economy over the past decade. For more information, visit

About admin

Check Also

Cardinal Ranjith criticizes Sri Lanka’s draft constitution

New constitution aims to punish government critics, warns head of country’s Catholic Church Sri Lankan …